Asisat Oshoala Clinches Unprecedented Sixth CAF Women’s Player of The Year Award

By Duchess Magazine

Nigeria’s football sensation, Asisat Oshoala, has secured her legacy as one of the continent’s football icons by winning the 2023 CAF Women’s Player of The Year, marking an unprecedented sixth triumph in this prestigious category. The ceremony, held at the ongoing Confederation of African Football awards in Morocco, witnessed Oshoala’s stellar achievements being celebrated once again.

Known for her exceptional skills on the field, Oshoala, often referred to as the ‘Agba baller,’ has etched her name in history as the first Super Falcons player to score at three consecutive FIFA World Cups. This recent accolade adds to her impressive list of victories in the same category in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019, and 2022.

In her gracious acceptance speech, the Barcelona Femeni forward expressed heartfelt gratitude to her coaches at various levels, acknowledging their pivotal role in her journey from grassroots football to the national and club levels. She seized the moment to call for unity among African football federations, urging collective efforts to elevate the continent’s football to global excellence.

“This night, I would love to use this opportunity to thank everyone who has been part of my journey from grassroots football to the national level to the club side. Because without you, my coaches, and my teammates, there will be no me,” Oshoala remarked passionately.

Her plea for collaboration among African football federations resonated strongly as she emphasized the need to build a strong continent collectively. “Let’s work together and build our continent. Let’s make it the best in the world,” she urged, drawing parallels to the historic achievements of African national teams in the last men’s World Cup.

Emphasizing the power of unity, Oshoala said, “We have to work together as a team because football is a team sport. Let’s start at home and go to the world and conquer it.”

Oshoala’s influence in African women’s football extends beyond her individual achievements. With six CAF Women’s Player of The Year awards under her belt, she now stands as an inspiration to aspiring players across the continent. Her dedication and skill have elevated Nigeria’s football status, making her not only a national treasure but a symbol of African football excellence.

Full list of past winners:
2001: Mercy Akide (Nigeria)
2002: Alberta Sackey (Ghana)
2003: Adjoa Bayor (Ghana)
2004, 2005: Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)
2006, 2007: Cynthia Uwak (Nigeria)
2008: Noko Matlou (South Africa)
2009: N/A
2010, 2011: Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)
2012: Genoveva Anonmam (Equatorial Guinea)
2013: N/A
2014: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)
2015: Gaëlle Enganamouit (Cameroon)
2016, 2017: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)
2018: Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)
2019: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)
2020, 2021: N/A
2022, 2023: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy
WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
Our support team is here to answer your questions. Ask us anything!
? Hi, how can we help?